Skip to content

Pumpkin goodness

October 6, 2009

Jessica inspired me to bake with pumpkins.  So I came up with a healthy recipe for pumpkin muffins that does not include flour or sugar. Or any animal products. It’s completely vegan.

Speaking of which…I love using vegan baking substitutions. For example, instead of using an egg in a recipe, you can mix a spoonful of flax seeds with a little water. The consistency becomes very egg-like. You can also use 1/2 banana instead of an egg. The Post Punk Vegan Kitchen has a vegan substitution guide online that’s very helpful.

I created these muffins as a light pre-workout snack in the mornings.  I like to cut mine in half and add a 1/2  tablespoon of raw almond butter.  I LOVE raw almond butter, so I have to ration it out carefully, otherwise, I will totally overindulge! This sustained me through a 3-mile run followed by an Insanity workout.

pm

Healthy Pumpkin Muffins

1 large can of pumpkin

2 cups of oats

1 cup of wheat bran

4 tbs flax seeds

2 tbs olive oil

1 banana

Vanilla, nutmeg, cinnamon, agave to taste

Mix all ingredients together. Line muffin tin and place the batter all the way up. Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes or until lightly brown on top. For me this made exactly 17 muffins.

I used a nutritional calculator and each muffin is exactly 100 calories, 13g carbs, 4.5g fat, and 3g protein.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 7, 2009 12:36 pm

    Aw thanks so much for linking me! 🙂 These look soooo good. My mouth is watering. Wait til you try the pumpkin butter! It is amazing!

Leave a Reply

